Posted by: Scott Groves | February 25, 2012

I don’t like Netflix as much today-

Although I had publicly expressed my happiness with Netflix about a month ago here, today I like the company a little bit less.

I do home loans for a living.  After a particularly hard transaction that closed this last week, I wanted to give a Netflix subscription to the client as a closing gift.  The client, in the first few months of home-ownership, is going to be strapped for a cash due to the arrival of a new baby.

I thought that giving a 6-month subscription to Netflix would be a nice way to say thank you for finding me on YELP! and sticking with me throughout the transaction.  I thought my favorite little red envelopes would be a great way to help a stay-at-home mom keep her sanity.

Unfortunately, in a strategic attempt to drive new subscribers away from DVD delivery, Netflix will only allow me to give the gift of “streaming”.  DVD deliver, as a gift option, is out.

Not knowing if my client own a streaming Blue-ray player… it didn’t make a lick of sense to gift a subscription to a service they may not be able to use.

So lame.


Leave a Reply

Categories

