Posted by: Scott Groves | February 14, 2012

Susan Komen Foundation-

Much has been written over the last two weeks about the Susan Komen Foundation’s decision to stop donating to Planned Parenthood, the fallout from this decision and their half-hearted reversal of their original decision.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, Google it.

The bottom line is this.  I don’t care how the Susan Komen Foundation chooses to spend its money.  If they want to donate $600,000 a year to an organization which doesn’t carry out the foundation’s primary mission of breast cancer screening and research, I don’t care.  I’ve never been on the board of the foundation, never will be and haven’t donated to them.  So it doesn’t matter to me.

What I do take issue with is political or ideological morons attacking the foundation via computer hackers, false articles about the foundation and a nationwide push to get politicians to bully a private foundation into deciding how they spend their money.

Imagine the following scenario.  As a private individual who makes a good living as a lender, my business partner and I decide  in 2001 to start donating a couple thousand dollars a year to a private group like the Boy Scouts.  From 2001 to 2007 I give $2,000 a year to a Boy Scout Troop in a low-income area in hopes of allowing under privileged young men to have better outdoor opportunities.  In 2007 the economy crashes and its way harder for my team and I to make money.  Also, we aren’t big fans of the new Boy Scout leadership within the troop and don’t really like the way my donations are being spent.  Turns out I want to donate to the local speech-and-debate club instead.  I feel that would be a better spot for my donations.

What the Boy Scout Troop should say is “thank you so much for your previous donations and past support.  It’s helped a ton of young men and we hope one day you reconsider and come back to us with additional support.  Let us know what we can do to make you feel comfortable in donating to our  cause sometime in the future.  Thanks again.”

Unfortunately, politicians and liberals appear to think that in my example, the Boy Scouts should do the following.

  • Threaten me
  • Encourage everyone in the neighborhood to never use me for business again
  • Destroy my business website
  • Hack my email and Facebook account
  • Call me a racist
  • Call me a liar
  • Get a local politician to bully me into continuing my donations “or else”

This is another classic example of why the Government should get out of everyone’s business.  The Federal Government should work on solving the financial and national security issues they were actually elected to oversee and stay out of choosing sides when it comes to private enterprise.


Leave a Reply

Categories

