Posted by: Scott Groves | February 14, 2012

Rosie O’Donnell is pretty disgusting

Let us get this out of the way up front.  I have a foul mouth.  I’ve told racist and sexist jokes in the past.  I’ve told jokes about little people before.  I’ve said a lot of foul stuff in my life and frankly I don’t have much of a verbal filter once I get away from my place of work.  I’m pretty much an equal opportunity offender when it comes to making inappropriate comments.

However, unlike Rosie O’Donnell and Chelsea Handler, I haven’t made millions of dollars by hosting a daytime talk show.  I’m not a public figure.  I haven’t rallied my viewers against certain people due to their video-taped gaffes, public comments on race or sexuality, and I definitely don’t claim to be a champion of human rights.

Watch the following exchange between Rosie O’Donnell and Chelsea Handler.  Can you imagine if this exchange had occurred between two conservative males and we substituted the worlds little-person for the words African-Americans or homosexual.

Just imagine the public backlash against Rosie and Chelsea had the exchange gone something like this and focused on racial or sexual stereotypes instead of the fear of little-people:

“…I’m a little ashamed about it, but I’m going to say it anyway.  I have a mild fear or anxiety around blacks (or gays / insert any other minority group here)…”   Rosie

“… No, I’ve never dated an African-American, that would be animal abuse (or child abuse / insert any other offensive stereotype here)…”  Chelsea

Because this conversation occurred between two liberal women, and since they were only marginalizing little-people (and not some other ‘favored’ minority group), these comments have been pretty much gone ignored by the general public.

Compare this to the comments Juan Williams made that set off a national media firestorm, got him fired from NPR and created a backlash against ‘racist’ Republicans.

“… I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous…”

Jeez, I wonder why Republicans feel there is a media bias in this country?

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

