Posted by: Scott Groves | February 14, 2012

Movie review – The Vow

I remember seeing a line in a movie that went something like this… If you don’t know what to say, find someone who has already said it better.

This pretty much describes how I feel about me being an amateur writer and Betsy Sharkey (Film Critic for the LA Times) being a pro.

I didn’t really know what to think about The Vow when I left the theater.  It clearly wasn’t The Notebook or Titanic, two date movies I loved BTW.  However, my initial reaction wasn’t that it was horrible either.  It was simply an average movie with fairly good actors playing down to the level of the script.

I’ve linked to Betsy’s full article below.  It’s worth a read for a more analytical view about the movie and the actors.  I found myself agreeing with her assessment of what was wrong with the film.

Personally, if you’re looking for a film for Valentines Day… visit one of my recommendations below that you and your partner may have missed:

  • The Notebook
  • Titanic
  • When Harry Met Sally
  • Sideways
  • Wall-E
  • Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
  • Last  of the Mohicans (a stretch I know, but the whole movie is about the eternal bond between brothers and new love between Daniel Day-Lewis’ character and Madeleine Stowe’s character)

http://articles.latimes.com/2012/feb/10/entertainment/la-et-the-vow-20120210


Leave a Reply

Categories

