Posted by: Scott Groves | February 14, 2012

Long time no post –

So… here I am a month and a half into my blogging experiment and I’m already WAY behind.  My goal was to average one post a day through 2012.  So right now I’m about 12 posts behind.   Luckily I have a lot on my mind.

But first, you may be asking,  “why haven’t I had ten minutes to knock out a quick post?”

The answer is that I’m absolutely slammed at work.  I work in finance.  Residential home loans to be exact.  For all the naysayers, the doom-and-gloomers and the negative press – it turns out people are still buying homes.  December through February tends to be a seasonally slow period for real-estate sales.  However, in desirable areas of Southern California, we’ve just experienced a ridiculously busy three months.

As a matter of fact, as someone who’s weathered the storm, treated my clients well and didn’t spend the last decade breaking every mortgage law in the book… I’m actually busier than I’ve ever been.  I had to hire a new associate and two new Jr. Partners at the end of 2012 just to keep up.

I know there are a lot of people in this country who are struggling.  I understand that millions of people who actually want a job, and are looking for one on a daily basis, simply can’t find employment.  Its sad, and I’m glad there are social safety nets in place to help those who are truly needy.

However, in my humble opinion, I believe there are millions more who simply don’t want to work as hard as is needed in order to “make it” in this sluggish economy.  In my opinion, and from what I’ve seen amongst some of my acquaintances, it is much easier to sit back and collect three years of unemployment rather than take an entry-level position and/or a pay-cut in order to be part of the workforce.

As much as I hate to use anecdotal evidence in my posts- I see it everyday.  The lenders, Realtors and clients of mine who are hustling for business, putting in long hours and general display a strong work ethic are exceeding… even in these tough economic times.  I work with home-buyers in various industries that earn anywhere from $20,000 a year to $5,000,000 a year… and every one of them tells me roughly the same thing.  “Money isn’t as easy as it was five years ago… but if I continue to work hard, I’ll be just fine.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

