Posted by: Scott Groves | January 22, 2012

Movie review – This is Spinal Tap

This is Spinal Tap is a movie I place into a couple of categories.  It is a film that I feel I ‘should’ like, but when I try to revisit it, I find myself falling asleep.  It’s also a movie that I accept as ‘important’ to the genre, but a film that I just can’t LOL at any longer.

Unlike recent mockumentaries such as Best in Show and Drop Dead Gorgeous, when I re-watch Spinal Tap I feel like I no longer get the jokes.  (sidenote: Best in Show continues to be in my top 20 movies of all time).

Maybe Spinal Tap (and Waiting for Guffman) are the type of films that are simply over my head.  However, it is probably more likely that they were good movies for their time, but haven’t held up over time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

