Posted by: Scott Groves | January 11, 2012

For the record, I still love Netflix

Until recently, when I cancelled my Direct TV subscription, I would have classified myself as a massive consumer of media.  Now that I don’t have cable, I would say I’m an average American when it comes to my level of media consumption.

I have swapped my endless viewing of worthless TV shows that I’m not that interested in for Netflix movies I actually want to watch.  I’ve rediscovered Arrested Development (one of the most under-rated shows of my generation) and I love the combination of DVD by mail and streaming video.  With these two options I get to view all the good television programming I my have missed from years past.

For somewhere around $25 a month, I get virtually an unlimited supply of great movies, good TV shows and amazing documentaries.  I really can’t imagine a more convenient model and I respect the product that Netflix delivers as a company.   The few times I’ve had complaints during my five-years with Netflix, my concerns have been promptly addressed and I feel I’ve been fairly compensated for my small problems.

However, in 2011 Netflix apparently wanted to show the world how the sausage was made behind those little red envelopes.  As a company they had to raise prices to stay competitive and acquire more streaming content, which seems pretty standard.  They publically vetted some strategy ideas which drove their stock-holders and customer-base a little bit crazy, but they quickly reversed course.  Their stock price plummeted as competitors in the growing market of streaming-video began to take away market-share, but this is standard for tech-companies.

Whatever… 2010 was a bad year for Netflix, I get it.   What I don’t get is how Netflix has been villainized by so many consumers and financial analysts.  Right now Netflix has roughly the same public approval rating that Exxon did right after the Valdez crashed into that reef.  Just today I got a notice in the mail asking if I wanted to join a class-action lawsuit against Netflix and Walmart for “price-fixing” of DVDs.   Really?  Take a chill-pill Americans… it’s just a movie.

Hopefully Netflix will survive last years negative press and this years barrage of class-action lawsuits.  I don’t really care how the corporate sausage is  made over their at Netflix, getting those little red-envelopes in the mail is sometime the best part of my day.  I know for sure that Netflix will have at least one client till the bitter end.


Responses

  1. YAY! Good on you…
    I hope Netflix sticks it out through all those class-action lawsuits and continues to thrive…and I hope you continue to enjoy their service!

    Sincerely,

    A FORMER BLOCKBUSTER
    EMPLOYEE


Leave a Reply

Categories

