Posted by: Scott Groves | January 10, 2012

I just finished the Hunger Games Trilogy

A great trilogy of books for all ages

Recently I finished reading the entertaining Trilogy by Suzanne Collins ‘The Hunger Games’.  Although books 2 and 3 got off to a slow start, I think all three were amazing.  It will be a while before I decide which of these “young adult” novels were my favorite.

Those of you not familiar with the books, I really don’t feel like posting a book review.  Besides, that’s what Wikipedia is for.

For those of you interested in reading the books and enjoying the many surprises they have to offer, STOP reading now.  I may let out a spoiler or two.

The basic story is a little formulaic.  Post apocalyptic society where one group of the survivors has all the wealth, resources and power.  Our unlikely hero, or heroine as it is in this case, is thrown into a set of circumstances which are unforeseen.  Somehow, through design or circumstance, our hero somehow has the the power to change the course of this fictional future and saves the day.

Like I said, formulaic.  However, what makes this set of books so much fun is that the violent world constructed by Collins, and the fight-to-the-death even which is the ‘Hunger Games,’ consists of only children contestants.

This shift of character archetype  from hardened soldier / cop / prisoner, as we see so often in these type of stories, to vulnerable teenagers is what makes the books much more engrossing.

Obviously, in a series written for teenagers, you will not have the depth of character found in a novel like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  The books are fairly short and inherently we know characters we enjoy reading about are going to get systematically murdered.  However, Collins does a good job of briefly developing those doomed characters and I found myself somewhat bummed as the representatives from certain districts are killed-off.

An overall good read that I imagine I would have found entertaining at twelve-years-old and I definitely found entertaining at thirty-two.


Responses

  1. […] Battle Royal when I heard this Japanese story was the origins for much of Suzanne Collin’s The Hunger Games.   I definitely see the similarities in plot-points, but not the story telling styles.  The […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

