Posted by: Scott Groves | January 1, 2012

They say imitation is the highest form of flattery

They say imitation is the highest form of flattery.

Before you start to browse through my little pet-project known as Greater Thoughts… I highly recommend you check out Andrew Viertel’s “Great” Thoughts blog over at http://bluedrew.wordpress.com/

Andrew is an old friend of mine.  As kids we attended church camp together in the mountain range just outside of Los Angeles.  The woods around Lake Arrowhead and Running Springs were an ideal location for young boys to explore, make new friends and receive some spiritual guidance from Christian leaders like Bob Wallen who never seemed pushy.

Andrew was always a little older (and a little bit smarter) than I was.  I have very fond memories of those yearly trips to Camp O’wongo (now Arrowhead Ranch) and the families who attended will always have a special place in my heart.

Some 15 years after Andrew and I lost touch, he resurfaced again about a year ago on Facebook.  As we started to reconnect, Andrew was just starting his personal journey on what he called “Post a day 2011”.  In 2011, Andrew wrote at least one blog-post a day and I followed along at http://www.GreatThoughts.com

Since those days at church camp, much has changed.  I have “lost” faith and currently do not practice or truly believe in religion.  Ironically, I’m probably one of the most religious tolerant people I know.  I have close friends and family who are Catholic, Jewish, Christian, Mormon, Muslim and/or Scientologists.  I constantly find myself arguing with religious or “spiritual” folks who claim to belong to the correct faith while chastising the faith of others throughout the world.  My favorite line tends to be – “why is your guy who talked to the heavens 2,000 years ago totally legit, but someone elses guy who talked to heaven (or aliens) 300 years ago is supposed to be viewed as bat-shit crazy?”

To the best of my knowledge, even though 100% of our interaction has been via Facebook, Andrew is still a devout christian and is raising his two lovely children accordingly.

We are both married.  And although Andrew has moved on to the State of Washington and I have remained in Los Angeles, I have a sneaking suspicion that Andrew’s heart still resides here in the east L.A. city of Eagle Rock.

Here is where the fun starts.  I graduated high school, went into the Army, and then straight into banking.  Andrew went from high school to Occidental College  (one of the most liberal schools in the country and Obama’s Alma Mater).

Politically we couldn’t be farther apart.  (SIDENOTE – if you can’t already figure out which side of the aisle Andrew and I reside on, please stop ready now and redirect yourself to perezhilton.com or some other such site.)

Our arguments on Facebook have sometimes been a little too personal, but generally they have been intelligent and informative.  Unlike most liberals I’ve sparred with, Andrew truly does understand what he is talking about and his blog-posts for the last year proved my suspicions.  Andrew’s political views fall into the Scott Groves sub-category of ‘I totally disagree – but understand’.

So here I am.  Sitting on my couch at 9:30 in the morning on the first day of 2012 trying to steal some of Andrew’s thunder by writing a right-leaning blog about my thoughts and experiences.  Hopefully he will be flattered and not offended.


Responses

  1. Well done, sir! I’m certainly not offended and will be adding you to my blog roll.

    • How did you find this so fast…. Was planning to post for a month before I let anyone know about it 🙂

      • You showed up on my site stats.

  2. Let me know when you’re ready to go public. I’ll give you a shout out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

